NU 5841: JSU's Advanced Experiential Clinical Course
JSU's Post-Master's DNP expects an MSN with a clinical focus that validates 500 practicum hours. When an applicant's master's hours come up short, JSU offers conditional admission and the missing hours are earned in NU 5841, the Advanced Experiential Clinical Course (AECC), a pass/fail course of one to six credits whose hours are set by a gap analysis. Some JSU pages still call it NU 531.
Get your placement plan
Tell us your JSU program and where you live. A placement advisor replies with the preceptor and site options that fit your JSU course.

Who takes NU 5841
The Post-Master's DNP is open to nurses with an MSN whether or not they are nurse practitioners, and JSU's entry line is about hours, not specialty: the MSN must have "a clinical focus validating 500 clinical practicum hours." If your master's program documented fewer, JSU can still admit you, conditionally, with the AECC added to close the gap.
That often affects nurses whose MSN focused on education, administration or informatics, where practicum hours can run lower than in an NP track. The gap analysis done at admission compares what your MSN validates with JSU's 500 and sets how much of NU 5841 you take. JSU does not publish how that comparison is worked out, so your admission letter and the DNP program coordinator are where the number comes from.
The rest of the program is laid out in the Post-Master's DNP guide: 36 credits over six semesters, ending in 630 residency hours.
The course as JSU describes it
The graduate course listing and the admission text describe the AECC in slightly different terms. Here they are side by side.
| Item | Course listing (2026-27 catalog) | Admission text and web page |
|---|---|---|
| Number | NU 5841 | NU 531 |
| Size | 1 to 6 credits | Course hours of 1 to 5, set by gap analysis |
| Clinical hours | A minimum of 100 to 500 | Enough to reach 500 validated hours |
| Grading | Pass/fail | Not stated |
| Who you work with | Practicum hours may also be completed with organizational leaders | Not stated |
The last row is what sets this course apart from an NP practicum. JSU allows the hours to be completed with organizational leaders as well as clinicians, which suits the leadership and quality improvement focus of the DNP work that follows. Pass/fail grading also means the course is judged on completing the hours and the work your faculty set, rather than on a letter grade.
NU 531 or NU 5841: reading the conflict
JSU moved its graduate courses to four-digit numbers, and the 2026-27 catalog lists the AECC as NU 5841. The Post-Master's DNP web page still says NU 531, and so does the admission paragraph on the catalog's own Post-Master's page, so you may see both numbers in the same week.
They describe one course. Register under NU 5841 and use that number when you describe the course to a mentor or site. The credit range differs too: the admission text speaks of course hours from 1 to 5, while the course listing allows 1 to 6 credits. If the figure on your admission paperwork matters for your plan or your costs, ask the DNP program coordinator which one governs your gap.
Use the catalog's NU 5841 when you register, even though JSU's Post-Master's page and admission text still print NU 531.
What NU 5841 hours can look like
Because the catalog lets AECC hours be completed with organizational leaders, the course can take two shapes. One is clinical: time with a nurse practitioner, physician or other licensed clinician in a practice setting. The other is leadership: time with nurse executives, quality or patient safety directors, or others who run systems of care. Many students combine the two.
JSU publishes no list of approved mentors or settings for the AECC, so your course faculty confirm each one. A leadership mentor who works where a doctoral project could later take root can be a strong choice, since the DNP residencies ask for a site that will host a quality improvement project for 16 months. The preceptor requirements guide covers what JSU and Alabama publish about who can precept.
Timing and clearance
The Post-Master's plans of study do not show where NU 5841 falls, and the catalog lists no term for it. Since your admission is conditional on it, settle the timing with the DNP program coordinator as soon as you are admitted, and allow for the fact that DNP 8796 arrives in your third semester on both the fall-start and spring-start plans. Finishing the AECC hours before that semester lets you give the residency pairing your full attention.
The usual graduate clearance applies before any hours begin. JSU requires malpractice coverage purchased through the School of Nursing and approved before you initiate contact with a practicum site, along with current CastleBranch items. The CastleBranch guide lists what goes in, and the DNP 8796 guide explains what that third semester sets up.
How we find your NU 5841 hours
Whatever help JSU offers with the AECC, we find mentors and sites that meet its rules and cover your exact gap, near where you live and work. We build clinical hours, leadership hours or a mix, depending on what your faculty want the course to add.
- Start from your gapWe work from the hours your gap analysis sets, so the plan covers what JSU asked for without extra weeks.
- Clear the wayWe confirm your malpractice approval and CastleBranch items before any mentor or site is contacted.
- Match the mentorWe search for clinicians or organizational leaders who can host you, and gather their credentials and the site's details for JSU's faculty.
- Look ahead to the residencyWhere it fits, we favor a site that could later host your DNP project, so the 16-month search begins with a head start.
Each mentor and setting is approved by JSU's faculty, and we hand them a file ready for that decision. Tell us your gap through the form below.
Questions JSU students ask
What is JSU's Advanced Experiential Clinical Course?
It is NU 5841, a pass/fail course of one to six credits for Post-Master's DNP entrants whose MSN validated fewer than 500 practicum hours. Its clinical hours range from a floor of 100 up to 500, scaled to the shortfall, and JSU admits those students conditionally until the course is complete.
Is NU 531 the same course as NU 5841?
Yes. NU 531 is the older number still printed on JSU's Post-Master's DNP web page and in the admission paragraph of the catalog's Post-Master's entry. The 2026-27 catalog's course listing uses NU 5841, which is the number to register under.
How many hours will I need in NU 5841?
That comes from the gap analysis JSU runs at admission, which compares your validated MSN practicum hours with the 500 it expects. The catalog sets the course range at a minimum of 100 to 500 clinical hours and one to six credits, while the admission text says one to five. Your admission paperwork states your figure.
Can NU 5841 hours be done with a nurse leader instead of a clinician?
The catalog opens the door to leadership hours by letting AECC time be spent with organizational leaders as well as clinicians. Your course faculty approve the specific mentor and setting, so check that a leader's role fits what the course needs before you begin logging hours.
Do nurse practitioners entering JSU's Post-Master's DNP need NU 5841?
JSU's rule turns on validated practicum hours, not on whether you are an NP. If your MSN documents at least 500 clinical practicum hours, the AECC should not be part of your plan; if it documents fewer, the gap analysis adds it. Ask the admissions office what proof of hours JSU accepts.
Related pages
Last checked 2026-09-27
We check these pages against JSU's 2026-27 catalog, nursing handbooks, program pages and licensure disclosures. Your course faculty and your plan of study have the final word.
Whether JSU helps or you start alone, we find the preceptor.
Tell us your JSU program, your next practicum or residency and the town you train near. We find preceptors and sites that fit the course and gather what JSU's faculty need to clear them, early enough for the semester.
- Preceptors matched to the course: family practice across the lifespan, adult-gerontology acute care, DNP residencies
- License, certification and site details ready for JSU's clearance, with your CastleBranch and malpractice items in order
- Across Alabama and in Georgia, Florida, Mississippi and Tennessee
Start your placement plan
Your program, your town and your next clinical semester is all we need to begin.