Jax State PreceptorClinical placement for JSU nursingGet matched

DNP 8797, 8798 and 8799: JSU's three residencies

Every JSU DNP student, whether in the BSN-DNP tracks or the Post-Master's DNP, ends on an identical trio of residencies, DNP 8797, DNP 8798 and DNP 8799, at three credits and 210 hours apiece. Between them they take one quality improvement project from first draft to final findings, at one site with one preceptor, which is why the residency term you are in shapes what your site has to deliver.

Get your placement plan

Tell us your JSU program and where you live. A placement advisor replies with the preceptor and site options that fit your JSU course.

By sending this you agree we may reply by email, call or text about your placement. Message and data rates may apply; reply STOP to opt out. Privacy

210Residency hours in each of DNP 8797, 8798 and 8799
8-10Weeks of project implementation that start in January, per JSU's DNP timeline
DNP 8797, 8798 and 8799: JSU's three residencies. 210: Residency hours in each of DNP 8797, 8798 and 8799; 8-10: Weeks of project implementation that start in January, per JSU's DNP timeline.
210: Residency hours in each of DNP 8797, 8798 and 8799; 8-10: Weeks of project implementation that start in January, per JSU's DNP timeline.

The three residencies at a glance

The 2026-27 catalog lists the residencies under the DNP prefix for every track. Each has two possible terms, which lets JSU run both the May-start and August-start groups through the same courses.

DNP residency courses in JSU's 2026-27 graduate catalog
CourseCreditsHoursGradingOffered
DNP 8797 Residency I3210Not stated in the catalogFall or spring
DNP 8798 Residency II3210Pass/failSpring or summer
DNP 8799 Residency III3210Pass/failSummer or fall

How the three courses add up, and what JSU means by a residency, is the subject of the DNP residency hours guide. This page takes the courses one at a time. JSU's timeline is written around the May start, so if you are in the smaller August group, ask the DNP program coordinator how each milestone shifts.

Residency I: faculty, IRB and the proposal

DNP 8797 is the fall term on the May-start pattern, and JSU's timeline fills it with project groundwork. You are assigned a faculty member, you finish IRB training, and your formal proposal falls due around the turn of September into October. Once faculty approve it, the IRB application goes in during October or November.

Your preceptor is part of that planning. The timeline has students meeting with their preceptor four times in the semester to shape the project before anything is put into practice, so a preceptor who is hard to reach in the fall slows the proposal. The catalog does not say whether Residency I is letter-graded or pass/fail; your course faculty can confirm. Either way, a proposal approved on time is what lets implementation start in January.

Residency II: the project goes live

DNP 8798 covers implementation. On the May-start pattern it runs in spring: the project launches in January and runs for eight to ten weeks, with four meetings held on site and the Executive Summary drafted along the way. JSU asks preceptors to suggest content for that summary, so your preceptor's view of the results matters here.

This is the residency where the site does the most work. Staff may need to change a process, collect data or give feedback while the project runs, which is why the site's leaders need to back the project from the start. Residency II is graded pass/fail, and the graduate handbook notes that an F in a pass/fail course is computed as a regular F. The grades and progression guide explains what follows from that.

Residency III: results and Dissemination Day

DNP 8799 brings the project to a close. JSU's timeline has results shared at the site in July, then Dissemination Day on campus that same month, a gathering of students, staff from the host facilities and JSU faculty to talk through every DNP project. Graduation follows in August.

Residency III is also pass/fail. Because Dissemination Day brings you to Jacksonville, plan the travel early; JSU's published notes on campus visits for online students are collected in the on-campus requirements guide. Your preceptor and site contacts are welcome that day, which makes it worth asking them early whether they can attend.

For a preceptor, this last term is lighter than the spring but still matters: the July results session happens at their site, where the findings go back to the team that hosted the project. A preceptor who has stayed from the first planning meeting to this point is the continuity JSU's 16-month rule is designed to produce.

Which term each residency falls in

The order never changes, but the calendar does. Here is where each current plan of study puts the three courses, with the lecture course taken in the same term.

Residency terms in JSU's plans of study
PlanDNP 8797DNP 8798DNP 8799
BSN-DNP, FNP or AGACNPFall, with NU 8011Spring, with NU 8015Summer
Post-Master's, fall startFall of Year 2, with NU 8012Spring of Year 2, with NU 8013Summer of Year 2, with NU 8015
Post-Master's, spring startSpring of Year 2, with NU 8011Summer of Year 2, with NU 8015Fall of Year 2, with NU 8012

By our mapping, Post-Master's students entering in Fall 2026 complete the residencies between Fall 2027 and Summer 2028, and a Spring 2027 entrant runs them from Spring 2028 through Fall 2028. The fall FNP and AGACNP plans print the block with FNP or ANP prefixes; they are the same DNP courses.

One preceptor, one site, all three courses

JSU asks every DNP student to hold on to one preceptor and one clinical site for 16 months across these courses, starting from the pairing in DNP 8796. Under the graduate handbook, any shift in your projected clinical experience needs formal approval after you notify faculty and program staff, and it can affect your progression.

That is where we come in. Whatever route your JSU pairing takes, we line up a preceptor and site that fit JSU's rules and can see a project through all three residencies, with the preceptor's credentials and the site's contract details ready for faculty review. If a preceptor leaves partway, we move quickly on a replacement who can take over the project, and the backup preceptors guide explains what to do while that happens. JSU's faculty approve every change. Tell us your residency start through the form below.

Changing sites between residencies is not a routine step at JSU: it needs formal approval, so choose a site that can stay the full 16 months.

Questions JSU students ask

Is DNP Residency I pass/fail at JSU?

The 2026-27 catalog marks DNP 8798 and DNP 8799 as pass/fail but does not state a grade type for DNP 8797. The 2024-25 graduate handbook says the P grade is given for DNP residency courses. The Residency I syllabus, or your course faculty, will tell you how that course is graded.

What happens if I fail a JSU DNP residency?

JSU's graduate handbook counts an F in a pass/fail course as a regular F. In graduate nursing only one course graded C or lower may be repeated, the second attempt has to reach at least a B, and a second failure means dismissal. With one project spread across three courses, your DNP program coordinator sets how a retake fits.

Can I change residency sites between DNP 8797 and DNP 8799?

JSU plans on one preceptor and site for the full 16 months. A switch counts as a change in projected clinical experience, which you report to your faculty, the program coordinator and the Administrative Coordinator, Graduate Programs, and which needs approval before it takes effect. If a site falls through, contact them right away and see the backup preceptors guide.

Do Post-Master's and BSN-DNP students take different residency courses?

No. Both programs end in the same three courses, each carrying 210 hours, and the Post-Master's catalog page spells out the 630-hour requirement. The difference is timing: BSN-DNP students reach the residencies after four NP practicums, while Post-Master's students start them in their second year.

When is JSU's DNP Dissemination Day?

JSU's DNP timeline places Dissemination Day in July, after results are shared at the project site, and holds it in Jacksonville for students, host-site staff and faculty. The exact date is not on JSU's public pages, so watch your Canvas course and GEM email for the announcement.

Last checked 2026-09-27

We check these pages against JSU's 2026-27 catalog, nursing handbooks, program pages and licensure disclosures. Your course faculty and your plan of study have the final word.

Whether JSU helps or you start alone, we find the preceptor.

Tell us your JSU program, your next practicum or residency and the town you train near. We find preceptors and sites that fit the course and gather what JSU's faculty need to clear them, early enough for the semester.

  • Preceptors matched to the course: family practice across the lifespan, adult-gerontology acute care, DNP residencies
  • License, certification and site details ready for JSU's clearance, with your CastleBranch and malpractice items in order
  • Across Alabama and in Georgia, Florida, Mississippi and Tennessee

Start your placement plan

Your program, your town and your next clinical semester is all we need to begin.

By sending this you agree we may reply by email, call or text about your placement. Message and data rates may apply; reply STOP to opt out. Privacy

Placement deskPlacement Coordinator · online